Grants & Awards

The Monastic Studies Grant, awarded annually, provides financial support for monastic learning and research projects. All American Benedictine Academy members are invited to apply for these grants, which provide funds to support projects that foster the mission of the ABA, “to cultivate, support and transmit the Benedictine heritage within contemporary culture.”

Grant support may be used for research, travel, or other modes of exploring and promoting the Benedictine heritage. It may also be used for travel expenses and registration fees for the purpose of presenting a scholarly paper on a monastic topic related to the Benedictine heritage at a scholarly convention. A total of $1150 is available to fund these annual grants.

Applicants must be members of the ABA. Applications will be selected on the basis of:

  • The quality of their proposal (originality, feasibility, clarity of purpose)
  • Potential benefit for monastics, and
  • Relevance to the purposes of the Academy.

Recipients of grant support must be willing to submit a report on the use of the grant and/or a brief summary of the topic of the scholarly paper to the ABA board of directors within a year from the completion of the project/presentation of the paper for which the grant was given.

Recipients will be chosen by the ABA Awards Committee and approved by the ABA Board of directors at their meeting and awards will be announced immediately thereafter.

To apply for a grant please supply the following information:

Name, address, phone number, e-mail address
Religious or academic affiliation (if any)
A brief description of the proposed project
The goal(s) of the proposed project
An itemized budget for the project, which includes:
Total cost of project
Sources of funding other than the ABA
Sum requested from the ABA

Send completed grant applications to:
 Greg Peters THI, Biola University
13800 Biola Avenue
La Mirada, CA 90639

or submitted by email as a Word document to [email protected]

ABA MONASTIC ESSAY COMPETITION is a bi-annual competition held in the year before a convention is held. It is a program sponsored by the American Benedictine Academy to encourage scholarly research among newer monastics and recent oblates. All monasteries are asked to encourage participation in this competition as a means of promoting monastic scholarship for the future.

Project requirements: Within the theme of “the monastic tradition,” the essay of 2,500-3,000 words may take a variety of forms, such as:

• the connection of a monastic topic to the writer’s own monastery, or at least to the writer’s own interpretation of how traditional monastic practices could be authentically and productively lived out in our time either in the monastery or in the oblate life

• a discussion of the difficulties/possibilities of integrating tradition and current environment and possible new solutions

• a review of various adaptations of traditional practices in the past to new situations, their effectiveness in the past and possibly their significance for the current situation.

The essay is to be submitted as a double-spaced and computer-generated Word document. Awards are given only in convention years, so the deadline is March 31st, 2016, i.e. the year of the next convention. It is to be sent to the chair of the Monastic Essay Competition: Sister Marianne Burkhard OSB [email protected]

The winner of the Essay Competition will be awarded:  a two-year membership in ABA, a waiver of registration and hospitality fees for the ABA convention, a certificate of participation, and a book of interest to monastics.



At the ABA biennial business meeting on August 10, 2010, held at Benedictine College in Atchison, Kansas, the membership approved a constitutional revision re-naming the previous “Fellowship Award” to the “Egregia Award.”

The Egregia* Award is the principal award conferred by the American Benedictine Academy upon individual members. The award is publicly bestowed at the biennial meeting and includes gratis lifetime membership. The recipients of this award will be so designated on the membership lists published in the American Monastic Newsletter.

This award is conferred on persons

  1. who have been members of the Academy for a minimum of eight years;
  2. whose achievement or contribution to the Academy’s purpose is long-standing in one of the following:
  • leadership in, or outstanding contribution to conferences, symposia, programs of study or research projects that focus on monastic interests or themes;
  • publication of research that has a significant impact upon the understanding and development of monastic life;
  • long-term service in leadership capacities in the Academy;
  • –development of and participation in creative expressions of monastic life in contemporary cultures.

Before each convention, academy members may nominate a person for the Egregia award by submitting the name of the nominee, together with a description of the nominee’s achievement. Nominations are considered by the board of directors for selection and conferral of the Egregia Award at the convention.
*Latin: distinguished, exceptional, with outstanding praise

Previous honorees have been:
2014: Sister Renee Branigan, Sacred Heart Monastery, Richardton, N.D.
2012: Sister Shawn Carruth, Mount St. Benedict, Crookston, Minn.
2010: Father Terrence Kardong, OSB, Assumption Abbey, Richardton, N. D.